Stay there

Standard

Some days I feel ready for anything. Don’t you? Spilled coffee is something I can simply shake my head about and move along.. I may even laugh at the silly scenario. I could handle it all. I think of Dr. Seuss books and the message of you can do it! Is all going to be great! but he also mentions those times that aren’t so full of positive energy..

I sit in a moment that feels vulnerable. I cry for everything and everyone and I cry for no one but myself. I pour out an upheaval of mixed thoughts and don’t settle on any. In these moments we like to hide and get away. Maybe we will cry in the shower where no one sees.. Or we can drink a glass of wine.. Or phone a friend to get away and vacate the mind. But you will see, my friend, that none of this really brings about the solution to your vulnerable place, and many times when revisited it feels even more severe.. What then?

First and foremost, open your arms to the experience. Just as I sat down to journal, a cat in the house came and demanded my attention. I shushed him away but he persisted, asking for my hands, licking my face..even curling up the way cats like to do right on my chest. Instead of my original motion to push him away, I held him like a baby until he was ready to move along..

This is what we must do with ourselves. When the good comes along, so enjoy it. Soak it up, find the light, bask In the lightness. When your dark cloud rolls in (whether you know what it is or not) , can you embrace it? It sounds simple but all our lives we choose to run. And until we start really looking at it with sincere care and love, it will persist, just like my dear friend the cat.

It may start with just one moment in your day today.. A moment that you wanted to go better.. Maybe a moment that just doest feel good.. Can you be open for it? It all will pass and I can promise you that.. So see it out. It has a reason. Stay genuine.

Leave a Reply

